Skip to main content
Posted on 10 Aug 2018
Clinical/acute care

Werribee Mercy Hospital's new intensive care unit (ICU) will become a pilot site for a Safer Care Victoria project to standardise nine medications that support the heart.

The priority project is a statewide initiative of SCV’s Critical Care Clinical Network which aims to standardise inotrope and vasopressor administration and monitoring in Victorian ICUs.

Find out more about the Critical Care Clinical Network priority project.

Opened on 1 August 2018, the new ICU at Werribee Mercy was developed as part of the hospital’s $93 million expansion and is one of seven project pilot sites across the state where the new guidelines are now live.

Werribee Mercy Hospital ICU team
The new ICU team at Werribee Mercy Hospital

The Critical Care Clinical Network has been supportive of the new ICU, with the network’s clinical co-lead Graeme Hart visiting during the build phase.                                                                                  

The network has also provided a mechanism for Werribee Mercy’s ICU leadership team to connect with peers and colleagues across Victoria, including during the network’s annual forum.

Staff at Werribee Mercy ICU have been using the guidelines since they opened and are sharing their experience, as well as being supported, through the Critical Care Clinical Network.

The new ICU is led by Medical Director Dr Mainak Majumdar and Nurse Unit Manager Joanne Pickford who bring a wealth of experience in intensive care to Werribee Mercy Hospital. Dr Majumdar and Ms Pickford will lead a team of specialist doctors, nurses and allied health staff including physiotherapists, dietitians, speech pathologists and social workers.

‘The ICU provides essential critical care services to the local community,” Dr Majumdar said. “This is an exciting opportunity to set up an intensive care service in Melbourne’s fastest growing area that is currently under-serviced in terms of access to acute healthcare.’

Page last updated: 13 Aug 2018