Skip to main content

Clinical coding and classifications, sometimes called health classifications, group aspects of patient information and characteristics into categories based on established criteria, logic and conventions. These categories can then be used for a range of activities that underpin the delivery of health services. These activities include:

  • health service planning
  • patient quality and safety monitoring
  • development and ongoing maintenance/execution of funding models
  • research and epidemiology.

Clinical coding and classifications are used in the following service categories:

  • admitted care
  • subacute and non-acute care
  • non-admitted care
  • mental healthcare
  • emergency care.

The Independent Hospital Pricing Authority (IHPA) undertakes reviews and updates of existing classifications and is also responsible for introducing new classifications for those service categories without an existing classification.

Click here to access current clinical coding and classifications resources.

Victorian hospitals use health classifications to assign clinical codes to admitted episodes of care in hospitals.
The Victorian ICD Coding Committee (VICC) promotes accurate use of clinical classifications and resolves coding queries from clinical coders.
The ICD coding queries database supports the clinical coding function performed in Victoria by health information managers and clinical coders.
Victoria's additions to the Australian Coding Standards (ACS) supplement the advice in the ACS and updated each year.
Archive of clinical coding and classifications resources.

Page last updated: 11 Dec 2020