Skip to main content

Inaugural members were appointed by the Minister for Health in June 2018 for a period of six years.

This will allow the same Board to establish statewide procedures prior to commencing in June 2019, and to review the operation of the law after five years.

Betty King 

Retired judge of the Supreme and County Courts 

Deputy Chair
Charles Corke    

Intensive Care Specialist, Barwon Health

Margaret Bird    

Executive Clinical Director Ambulatory Services, Eastern Health

Molly Carlile AM

Leader and specialist in palliative care, recently Chief Executive Officer of metropolitan community palliative care service and previously a senior executive and advanced practice clinician

Mitchell Chipman

Oncologist and Palliative Care Physician, Victorian Breast and Oncology Care

John Clements 

Consumer representative

Sally Cockburn

General Practitioner, Broadcaster

James Howe

Consultant Neurologist

Danielle Ko

Palliative care consultant, Clinical Ethics Lead, Clinical Engagement Lead, Quality and Patient Safety, Austin Health
Margaret O’Connor AM Emeritus Professor of Nursing, Monash University, Clinical Research Consultant, Melbourne City Mission Palliative Care

Nirasha Parsotam

Pharmacist, Head of Health Systems Strategy and Integration, Bupa

Paula Shelton

Special Counsel, Adviceline Injury Lawyers

Melissa Yang

Physician, Western Health, carer


Get in touch

Voluntary Assisted Dying Review Board

Page last updated: 19 Nov 2020

Was this content helpful to you?